Terminology: Types of Word

It’s quite surprising to me how many people I come across who don’t know what any of these words mean. We use them all the time in writing and communication so I thought it would be a good idea to list the 5 main types of word and explain what they mean.

Noun
A noun is a thing. In the sentence “My computer is quite old” the word computer is a thing and is therefore a noun.

Pronoun
A pronoun replaces a noun in a sentence. In the sentence “It is quite old” the word it is a pronoun as it would replace the noun alternative (such as computer).

Adjective
An adjective describes a noun. In the sentence “My computer is quite old” the word old is describing the computer and is therefore an adjective.

Verb
A verb is a doing word. In the sentence “I played computer games on my computer” the word played is a verb as it is what I am doing.

Adverb
An adverb describes how a verb is carried out. So in the sentence “I quickly ran up the stairs to play my new game” the word quickly is the adverb as it describes how I ran up the stairs.

Connective
Connective words link ideas in a sentence together. For example in the sentence “I own a Desktop and a laptop” the word and is the connective word as it links two nouns together.

Leave a Reply

