Aphrodite IX Rebirth Vol 1 by Matt Hawkins and Stjepan Sejic

Aphrodite IX: Rebirth Volume 1 TP (Aphrodite IX: Rebirth)Aphrodite IX: Rebirth Volume 1 TP by Matt Hawkins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There were two things that caught my eye about this comic, which encouraged me to read it. The first was the premise, two nations, one genetically enhanced and the other cybernetically enhanced at war with one another. The second was the artwork by Stjepan Sejic which I have been a fan of since reading Sunstone.

This is premise of the story is that the human race has split into two major nations, one which abhors death and therefore seeks to extend life through cybernetic enhancements, while the second nation accepts death as a part of life and are more focused on genetic enhancements and modification. Typically they hate one another and are constantly at war. Caught in the middle of this is an ancient female assassin named Aphrodite IX and her handler.

The story is fine, it’s not entirely new or groundbreaking however I did find myself drawn into it and therefore finished the book very quickly. One issue is the fact she has a green dot on her face that she can’t alter despite being able to alter her appearance in other ways. This is a problem as she is supposed to be a spy/assassin and a large green dot on her face is rather revealing. It would have made more sense to put it on an area of her body that is easier to cover up.

As I mentioned at the start, one of the major reasons for wanting to read this comic was due to Stjepan Sejic. His art is somewhat different in this comic to some of his others, however it is still beautifully done.

I think if you go into this comic with the expectation of a simple action story with some interesting ideas and beautiful artwork then you should enjoy it. I know I did, and I will no doubt get round to reading Volume 2 at some point.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

