You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) By Felicia Day

You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)You’re Never Weird on the Internet by Felicia Day
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It’s not often that I read a biography, or an autobiography, at least not anymore anyway. There’s just far too many fictional books that I want to read, however when I saw that Felicia Day was releasing an autobiography I knew I had to read it; and I’m very glad I did. For those of you who don’t know, Felicia Day is a writer, actress and YouTube personality. She is well known for her roles on Supernatural and Eureka (This is where I first encountered her) as well as her breakout web series, The Guild and the wonderful, Geek And Sundry.

Joss Whedon describes the book brilliantly in his foreword with the words “Reading this book is like spending an afternoon with Felicia, hearing breathless tales…” as that’s exactly what it feels like. Anyone who has watched her videos on YouTube will have a sense of how she presents herself, her mannerisms, language and sense of humour. All of this is presented wonderfully in the way the book is written and thus makes for a very enjoyable read.

More than this though, it was nice to read about the journey of someone who I admire and be able to relate to them. Okay, so I’ve not had the same kind of upbringing where I was home schooled nor are some of the quirks I could relate to, exactly the same, but it was nice to see an element of me in there, and that it’s possible to overcome , or at least embrace the quirks and become highly successful.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Felicia and her work, or anyone who feels like they’re just a bit weird compared to the rest of the world.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

